top of page

The Carving Influence


There is something special about sitting down with a piece of wood. I feel the energy of it and hold the vision of what it wishes to become, whether I know it or not. It always becomes what it is meant to be...just like all of us. Are you the carver of your life?

In 1992, I was living in St. Catherine's, Ontario and met Barry Caseman. Barry was a friend of the shop owner, Boundless Ecstasy, where I was working at the time. At first we all hung out and shared stories over coffee. It didn't take long for Barry and I to become friends, and he invited me to join one of his carving classes. I discovered that I LOVED carving. We began with carving a boot. I was a little skeptical, and Barry reassured me that once that class was over and my boot was carved, I would have learned every cut I would need to know to carve with a knife. I was hooked.

Over time, we became close. I often found myself at his house carving and sharing. When he suggested that I join the Niagara Wood Carving Club, I was surprised, though I let him talk me into it. I began entering various carving competitions and to my continued surprise, did very well.

My experience with the Niagara Wood Carving Club led me to take a course presented my Neil Cox, a world class carver and sculptor. Neil and Barry were responsible for encouraging me to continue with carving as an art form. Most of my carvings came from my head rather than a pattern found in carving magazines (at the time the internet wasn't the place to find everything you ever wondered about).

Despite all the classes I have ever taken to learn more about the technical aspects of carving, and the loads of research on different carvers and their particular techniques, I developed the point of view that even though a piece of wood can appear to be beautiful....it's simply fire wood until it's finished. Wood carving remains for me today, one of the most relaxing and fulfilling activities I have ever engaged in. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the remotest interest in it.

Over at The Artist Incubator, we are currently accumulating names for our first draw that began September 10th, 2017. The winner, whose name will be drawn on November 1st, will receive a special package of 3 hand carved wooden spoons by yours truly. My carved spoons are gnarly and unique and you won't find anything like them anywhere else.

To be eligible for this draw, you must LIKE The Artist Incubator, SHARE the original post and TAG at least one friend so they can decide if they want to enter the draw as well. My hope is that this will allow my dream to grow just a bit with each contest we run. My good friend Jessica Smalls over at Budding Hearts Academy, has generously offered to cover the cost of shipping the set of spoons anywhere in Canada, which makes this contest an offering at no cost to you when you win.

Check us out, and spread the word! I know I will appreciate it, and so will all those who are looking for an artistic community like this for their creative future.

If you love unique carvings like I do, feel free to check out what I have carved in the past under Wood Carvings in the website menu. I would love to create a custom order for you as well.

Until next time, be the carver or your life and keep whittling away.

Richard Bear.

About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page